Rhode Island

Deaths in Crashes Involving Teen Drivers in Rhode Island
In 2011, 6 people were killed in crashes involving teen drivers in Rhode Island. 
 
Graduated Driver Licensing Laws in Rhode Island
The current GDL law in Rhode Island includes the following components: 
 
  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 16 for learner’s permit, age 16 years and 6 months for the intermediate stage, and age 17 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on nighttime driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 21 for the first 12 months after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones by drivers younger than age 18
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers
 
These changes are needed to improve Rhode Island’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions
 
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen nighttime teen driving restrictions

 

For more information and to contact your state representative, please visit: http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/.

To contact your Member of Congress about optimal GDL provisions, please visit: http://www.saferoads.org/write-congress/rhode%20island